States of Brazil

Cities and States of Brazil

In addition to the one Federal District, Brasilia - which is also the capital city of Brasil, there are 26 states in Brazil that complete the union.

Brazil's states are divided into municipalities, - which are in turn sub-divided into districts. For ease however, the states of Brazil will be referred to as such. The capital or most important city belonging to these states in Brazil northeast will be referred to accordingly, whereas 'cities' in Brazil, will make reference to 'other significant' and/or less well-known areas in Brasil.

Below you will find details of all 9 states of Brazil northeast, with brief reference to each state's capital city as well as others of significance. You might also find the flags and flag description of each of these states and their geography especially useful on your brazil travel northeast.

Capital cities and states of Brazil

  • Alogoas - The capital city of Alogoas is Maceió

    other significant cities include Arapiraca, Palmeira dos Indios, União dos Palmares and Rio Largo

    Alagoas is a very small state of Brazil in comparison with some of the other north east states

  • Bahia - The capital city of Bahia is Salvador

    other significant cities are Feira de Santana, Vitória da Conquista, Itabuna, Ilhéus and Juazeiro

    Bahia is a rather significant state in Brasil northeast, in relation to Brazil's history. It was on the Bahia coast that the Portuguese first landed, starting the process of colonization and later on, the importing of African people for slave labour. Salvador became the first official capital city of Brazil

  • Ceará - The capital city of Ceará is Fortaleza

    Other significant cities are Juazeiro do Norte, Crato, Sobral

    Fortaleza in Portuguese, means 'fortress'. The name came about following the re-capture by the Portuguese of a fortress built by the Dutch in 1649 - Schoonenborch. The Portuguese renamed it Fortaleza de Nossa Senhora de Asunção, the area is known today as Fortaleza

    Maranhão - The capital city of Maranhão is Sao Luis

    Other cities of significance are, Imperatriz, Caxias, Alcântara

    Maranhão is considered to be one of the least affluent states in Brazil. Despite this however, it is fast becoming a growing tourist area that is attracting huge investments

  • Paraíba - The capital city of Paraíba is João Pessoa

    Other significant cities are campina grande, Santa Rita, Patos, Souza

    The city is so called after João Pessoa, governor of Paraíba, who was killed following the 1930 presidential election. The flag of Paraíba and its colours tells the story of João Pessoa's passing. The red of the flag represents his blood and the black represents the mourning of the people of Paraíba

  • Pernambuco - The capital of Pernambuco is Recife

    Other significant cities are Jaboatão dos Guararapes, Olinda, Caruaru, Paulista, Petrolina, Cabo, Vitória de Santo Antão. Since 1988, the former Federal territory of Fernando de Noronha was incorporated into Pernambuco State.

    Recife and Olinda are very important commercial cities in Brazil's history. These cities, which were founded during the Portuguese's colonisation, were sugarcane plantations that suppliers vast amounts of sugar to Europe and boosting Brasil's early economy for decades to come.

  • Piauí - The capital of Piaui is Teresina

    Other significant cities are Parnaíba, Picos, Floriano

    What set Teresina apart from all the other capital cities in Brazil northeast, is that it is the only one not positioned on the coast

  • Rio Grande do Norte - The capital of Rio Grande do Norte is Natal

    Other significant cities are Mossoró, Parnamirim and Ceará-Mirim

    Natal in Portuguese means Christmas. Following the French invasion of the region during the early part of the 16C, in a bid to secure the Natal region, the Portuguese built a fortress on the river banks of Potengi. On its completion - Christmas day in 1598, the village was named Natal

  • Sergipe - The capital of Sergipe is Aracaju

    Other cities of significance are Lagarto, Itabaiana, Estância

    Sergipe is the smallest of Brazil's north east states. Having previously being occupied by the Dutch, the Portuguese recaptured the area, turning it into a sugar cane plantation

    Return From States Of Brazil To Brazil Travel Northeast Home Page