Iguassu Falls

Iguazu Falls Brazil


Foz do Igaucu Walkway Brazil

The Iguassu Falls or Iguazú is perhaps one of the most mesmerising wonders of Brazil. The waterfalls' name comes from Guarani or Tupi words meaning - big Water.

According to legend, God planned on marrying a beautiful Aborigine girl named Naipi, who fled with her mortal lover Tarobá in a canoe. The enraged God sliced the river, thus creating the different waterfalls and condemning the lovers to an eternal fall.

A common characteristic of nearly all major waterfalls, is that they source two or even three countries. The waterfall falls, which are of the Iguazu River are located on both the border of the Brazilian state of Paraná and the province of Misiones in Argentine. Two thirds of the falls which are within Argentine territory, divide the river into the lower and upper Iguazu.

The Iguassu falls or Iguacu waterfall system consists of 275 falls along a 1.67 mile stretch of the Iguazu River. Some of the individual falls are up to 82 metres (269 ft) in height, although the majority of the waterfall falls are about 64 metres (210 ft). The well-known Devils Throat - the Garganta de Diablo, which is a U-shaped cliff of 150-metre-wide and 700-metre-long (490 by 2300 feet), is the most impressive of all the iguazu falls and marks the border between Argentina and Brazil. This is best seen from the Brazilian side, - watch for the rainbow!

It is noted that one of the falls in the the Argentine side is named after the first European to find the Iguassu falls back in 1541, namely, the Spanish Conquistador, Alvar Núñez Cabeza de Vaca. The iguacu falls were subsequently re-discovered during the nineteenth century by Boselli, after whom another of the Argentinian falls is named.

The water of the lower Iguazu collects in a canyon that drains into the Rio Parana in Argentina.

Getting to Iguassu Falls Brazil

A great advantage of the Iguacu falls being on both the Brazilian and Argentine side, is that they both have their own unique beauty and appeal. The falls are shared by the Iguazú National Park, Argentina and Iguaçu National Park, Brazil. These parks were designated UNESCO World Heritage Sites in 1984 and 1986, respectively.

  Iguazu Falls Brasil

The iguassu falls brazil can be reached from the two main towns on either side of the falls; which are Foz do Iguaçu on the Brazilian state of Paraná, and Puerto Iguazú in the Argentine province of Misiones. You can also get to the Iguazu water falls from Ciudad del Este, Paraguay, on the other side of the Parana River from Foz do Iguaçu. You can check for domestic flights from the northeast for connections to either the Iguassu falls Brazil or to the Argentinian side.

On the Brazilian side there is a long walkway along the canyon with an extension to the lower base of the “Garganta del Diablo”. The Walkways allows spectacular close views of the falls and it is possible to walk around, and even climb up to where the water flows metres before tumbling down.

On the Argentinian side, access is gained by the Tren Ecológico de la Selva - Rainforest Ecological Train, which brings visitors to different walkways. walkways enables you to come quite close to the edge of the water fall, as well as offering terrific views on the Brazilian side.

Once you have savoured this most dramatic Brazil tourist attraction, from high up, you can go down to a beach and take a boat ride on the river to get you close to the foot of the waterfalls. You can even engage in activities such as water sports or rock climbing.

The best times to see Iguazu Falls are in the spring and Autumn. If you are planning on spending a few days or so at the falls, there are Iguazu falls hotels on both sides of the river. A good tour operator can provide an Iguassu falls tour of your choice.

Return To Brazil Tourist Attractions

Return From Iguassu Falls To Brazil Travel Northeast Home Page